Corpus, ice-storms and good reads: Agnus Dei

Just a quick blog to let everybody know the now. I’m in Corpus Christi for right now, we have a symphony concert tomorrow at 8:00pm. As always, I stress about these concerts until I actually get down here, then it is all cloud nine. This truly is an integral part of my life, without music I would either be a bear, dumb, or a dumb bear. In rehearsal today Giordanno gave us a uncommon compliment, calling us a very good symphony, “no longer a giging group”. This may seem trite, but from John, that’s a huge compliment. We are performing Smetna’s Moldau from Ma Vlast (My Fatherland); Richard Strauss’ (no relation to Johann) RosenKavier Waltz’s, which is funny because Richard wasn’t the famous Viennese waltz composer, Johann was. This is sort of a parody of a waltz, and in typical Richard style, is slightly psycho. Also we are playing the Liszt Piano Concerto No. 1 and the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto. All in all a good program, not too hard for us, and lots of great music. I will try and write about how the concert goes tomorrow night.

A massive low pressure system is slowly marching its way down here. They are expecting 1/4 of ice in the Hill Country! Doesn’t sound like much…and it isn’t…but to the idiot non-savants that populate the Austin-San Antonio Corridor it’s worse than Hell freezing over. On a worse note, the rain and ice may once again put a kink in my River plans. Tim and I wanted to go float 3 stretches of the river, bringing our total mileage up to 29, but the weather may prevail. I guess we are just going to have to fight every step of the way for this one.

I am excited to be done with the concert, Jordan and I are planning to get together with friends on Sunday, and I know for a fact that our next NetFlix is in, so I want to be merry and lazy. I just finished The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief by Francis Collins, the head of the Humane Genome project. I will review it here, but I don’t feel like it now so tough. I have started The Places In Between by Rory Stewart and am enthralled. This is a good read, I will review it soon. Also, I heard that Khaled Hosseini had a new book coming out and it is true! It’s called A Thousand Spledid Suns and if it is at all as good as Kite Runner, I am stoked! I’ll have to wait till May though…grr

That’s it for now, I feel like Lamb.

One response to “Corpus, ice-storms and good reads: Agnus Dei

  1. How was TLoG? I have read some reviews from some vastly more humanist / secular types (Sam Harris, he of “Letter to a Christian Nation” fame) and they predictably panned it rather harshly.

    Cool stuff about the riverventures, keep up the solid posting.

Leave a Reply

