Thesis Woes

Since I have a lot of family and friends that read this, and everybody is asking what is going on, I will tell it here, and avoid the ‘middle man’ of sorts.

 

I am trying to finish up my masters thesis and graduate so that I can go on to earn my PhD at the University of Illinois studying with Dr. Bruce Rhoads. I have a full ride into that program and will begin in August on a Research Project in stream naturalization.

 

However, my current advisor is still not happy with my thesis as it stands now. This means that there is no longer any chance of me being able to fulfill the strict deadlines necessary to graduate in August. Unfortunately I will be graduating in December instead.

 

Thankfully, not all is lost. I have contacted Dr. Rhoads, and it does not matter if I am done at TxState, my offer and admission to the University of Illinois are secure. I have resumed working on the thesis to make it better and more complete. This has been a hard part of my life, and I have held some major resentment for Dr. Curran. Though I do not think I would have done it the same way, I must concede that Dr. Curran does have my best interests, and the interests of TxState in mind. My new goal is to have everything complete before the 1st day of the Fall Semester. Otherwise, I will have to be enrolled concurrently in two universities.

 

So for all of you who have heard my woes in the last weeks, do not fret, I am stressed beyond means, but I will come out on top in the end. I am excited to put this chapter of my life behind me, and move on to bigger and better things.

2 responses to “Thesis Woes

  1. You have our undying moral support and love. You will remain in our thoughts, so put your nose to the grindstone, and we’ll keep you in our thoughts.
    Love,
    Papa and Grandma

  2. That is obviously highly annoying and discouraging – but I’m sure you know you have the support of a jillion people and you can quite clearly do this. I will offer the often unhelpful “hang in there” sentiment and remind you that you are the MAN.

Leave a Reply

