Just waitin’ for the bus

Well I just turned in yet another thesis draft, let’s see how this one goes. I bet not well. I realy poured my heart into this one, proofread it at least 4 times, and revised the sections my advisor took issue with. I guess all I can do now is wait.

I am leaving later today to play a gig. I got a call from Lynn Ledbetter, my old Violin professor, asking me to play with the Brazos valley SO in Bryan/College Station. We it is their fireworks/4th of July concert and it should be a lot of fun. I have never played with the fireworks before, and truthfully I am kinda excited!

I’ll eventually get to writing a review of the latest book I finished:  A Thousand Splendid Suns by Kaled Hossen, the same author of Kite Runner. It was a good book, and I am looking forward to the review…maybe tomorrow.

One response to “Just waitin’ for the bus

  1. Frank, we missed you at our 4th of July celebration. Dad’s fried catfish was melt-in-your-mouth good, and Paige’s and my red, white, and blue star cake defied easy description. You almost got a piece, but then we chose to excuse you from having to come up with a creative compliment.

    I’m sorry you didn’t get to play a complete concert last night. With all this rain, you were probably fortunate to get through three pieces. I watched the Washington, D.C. festivities and imagined you playing there with all the fireworks in the background. Maybe your day will come in Champaign.

    We hope you won’t have to wait too long for the next step of your thesis work. It’s a trying time, no question, but you will get through this summer and on to new challenges in Illinois. We admire your determination!

    Looking forward to your book review. I’m reading Body & Soul by Frank Conroy. It’s the story of a child prodigy ( piano) and how his musical genius affects his everyday life. I’m enjoying the bits of music theory in it. Will pass it to you if you’re interested.

    Love you,
    Pat

Leave a Reply

