The Story of Stuff

With Christmas just around the corner, I can’t help but think of all the waste and debt we are putting ourselves into. NPR ran a story today on the rising rate of house foreclosures over the last year. And commercials dominate the airwaves with messages to buy more useless crap. Though I truly love the Christmas and Holiday season, I just can’t stand the havoc and mob mentality of people during this time. I found a nifty video along these lines (it’s about 20 minutes):

Click the image to watch this interesting video about the chain of production. A good use of time, though as you will see if you watch the vid, highly value laden. Enjoy!

Here are some more cartoons for your consumption 😉

(The above cartoons are from xmasresistance.org )

I think boycotting Christmas might be a bit much, though I do see their point. That’s an interesting site as well. Until next time…

 

3 responses to “The Story of Stuff

  1. Oooo… I’ll come back later to watch the vid… but the cartoons are deliciously vivid. 😀

  2. Hmm… I thought I already made a statement about this … but I guess not. I watched the video, and she’s very vivid and well informed. I learned a lot.. even though this is something I generally follow already. I would love to see her ideas take on like wildfire and fuel a complete change in American attitudes. I may happen one day.. hopefully before it’s too late.

  3. When I was a kid, (yes, I once was), we made all of our presents. I remember embroidering dish towls and pillow cases till my fingers hurt from pushing the needle through the cloth. And not too many years ago your great grandmother, Susie Baker, crocheted people’s names for wall hanagings. I’m sure you’ve seen ours hanging on the wall. But that was when I was a kid and didn’t have to work for a living, and that was when your great grandmother was retired and had time on her hands to do such things. But in between those years of childhood and retirement a person has to spend most of his/her productive time earning a living, and so we buy things, instead of making them. Some people make more money than others, and so they can afford to buy more. The problem is when we buy more than we can really afford, and there are a lot of people doing that. The spending is not the problem. Knowing how much you can afford, and sticking to it, is the problem.
    Anybody who buys a house with a variable mortage rate deserves anything they get.

Leave a Reply

