I know, it has been awhile.

My week so far (from xkcd.com):

Replace that ball with a dissertation topic, and you’ll know how I feel. The Copper Slough work is not going to work out due to pig headed engineers fighting tooth and nail for cheap, ill-advised science. Oh well. Ideas are coming together for me, but in order to get there, I have saturated myself with literature (I have a growing pile of 30 or so articles on my desk). So, you’ll have to excuse me if I don’t post much in the next week. Worry not, for I am well, just socked in…

For your entertainment, see Nate’s latest post of great time wasting links (thanks for nothing Nate!. I wasted an hour alone last night just checking out the first link….grr.

3 responses to “I know, it has been awhile.

  1. Just a quick note… I love you! (Smack)

    Still want to see those pics though 🙂

  2. Sounds like you are working with government engineers, and they are going to go as cheap as possible. Especially when it looks like we are going into a recession, and tax proceeds to pay for your solutions are going to go down instead of up for a while.
    And, just like your mother, we love you too!

  3. Don,

    This isn’t gov’t. engineers, I wish it was. This situation here is that a trucking company cause a large fish kill, and rather than settle with the state for remediation has opted to design their own restoration project. Thus, they want the PR of being ‘environmentally conscience’ and are trying to get out for cheap. Think Exxon and the Valdez Spill. Very similar to that situation (on a smaller scale of course) where Exxon has been repeated accused of taking credit for env. improvement as a cheap PR trick, when really they have just gotten off scot cheap with less than optimum work.

Leave a Reply

