Inauguration Invaders From Space!!

Well, time for a little post mortem reflection on the events of the last couple of days. As I write this, our embattled governor remains defiant that he is indeed innocent (or at least that he wants everybody to know he read poetry). I can’t help but laugh that whenever he has camera time he dodges all questions and quotes great writers or poets. I am confident Blago will meet his end in a “federal-rape-you-in-the-ass prison” alla Office Space. It’s only a matter of time.

I must admit it was a great day yesterday. It is a cool, and up until now unknown to me, feeling to have the man you voted for actually win and take office. I guess the third time is the charm. Of course, there are much greater implications to seeing Obama elected. The first African American president. I (and I assume every school ager from 1970 on) have been brought up learning about our nation’s civil rights movement for African Americans. It indeed carries a lot of weight to see this monumental accomplishment in that movement. That alone gives hope for future generations of oppressed minorities that still exist in our nation today.

I wonder now however how much Obama will be able to accomplish. Not to say he will not accomplish a great deal, after all he has congress on his side, at almost a shoe in vote (party wise anyway), and he has big plans for the nation’s future direction. However, he is inheriting a decade of mismanagement, poor allocation of resources, degradation of science and research funding, deregulation of financial markets, decreasing favor with world powers, and more. Obama has an uphill battle to fight. I know some of my readers are not religious, yet I find myself thinking of a specific verse (or really several instances with the same point) with respect to putting so much hope and trust into Obama:

Do not put your trust in princes, in human beings, who cannot save. (Psalm 146:3, NIV)

So, yes, I am both happy and very hopeful. However, I think it is foolish to think that Obama is the solution to all of our ailments. He will do much good, but there will be no ultimate solution in him. We should temper our enthusiasm lest it get in the way of owning our national identify and responsibility for our actions and choices both domestic and abroad. Obama represents, more so than in past years, a conscience choice by the people of this nation. In the same manner, any real change that happens in the next four years will have to be by a conscience choice of all individuals to change perceptions, overindulgence, and actions that lead to something better.

I’ll leave you with some just awesome images from GeoEye-1 (Google’s satellite for gEarth imagery) of the inauguration taken from 423 miles up. Courtesy of a cnet story:

inauguration_1_crop

inauguration_3_crop

One response to “Inauguration Invaders From Space!!

  1. He’s a good talker, but I’m afraid he doesn’t have enough experience to pull it off in the economic area. He would really have to screw up bad to make the diplomatic area any worse than it is now. I honestly don’t think there is a solution to the economic problem other than to just ride it out. It is going to be worse than the Great Depression, because at that time there weren’t a lot of benefit programs like Social Security and Medicare that had to be maintained. This one is going to last a long time, and be much worse.
    I hope I’m wrong.

Leave a Reply

