Academic spam?

UPDATE June 8, 2010: A Representative from LAP responds to this post, requesting I change the title (which I obviously didn’t). See my new post were I give LAP a chance to defend their position (Academic Spam? Redux – Lambert Academic Publishers Responds)

—–

So I recently got a form letter email asking me to publish my Thesis with Lambert Academic Publishing (Verlag). At first I though, “pure spam” and my finger was mere moments away from clicking delete, but then I was intrigued just long enough to do a little research.

Technically it’s not spam- this is a legitimate business, and they actually do publish your work. That said, there are just a few pitfalls I can see nevertheless! Typically when you publish, you lose your copyright on your words, so say goodbye to any future pubs out of that work. Also, the company wants your bank info to “deposit royalties”…sweet (can you say pay-pal?!).

This whole mess reminds me of one of those cheap furniture store, in whose commercials they scream some sort of anti-grammatical slew of repeated words at you to get you into their store. Think I’m kidding?:

Ah, the joys of the free market!

Here’s the form letter they sent if you’re interested (look for the typo):

Dear  Frank L. Engel,

I am writing on behalf of the International publishing house, Lambert Academic Publishing.

In the course of a research on the Internet, I came across a reference to your work in the field of Geography.

We are an International publisher whose aim is to make academic research available to a wider audience.

LAP Publishing would be especially interested in publishing your dissertation in the form of a printed book.

Your reply including an e-mail address to which I can send an e-mail with further information in an attachment will be greatly appreciated.

I look forward to hear from you.

Olga Bobutac

Acquisition Editor

LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing AG & Co. KG Saarbrücken Dudweiler Landstraße 99, 66123 Saarbrücken Germany

Fon +49 681 3720-310

Fax +49 681 3720-3109

o.bobutac@lap-publishing.com / www.lap-publishing.com

Handelsregister Amtsgericht Saarbrücken HRA 10752 Partner with unlimited liability:

VDM Verwaltung Aktiengesellschaft

Board of Directors: Dr. Wolfgang Müller (CEO), Christoph Schulligen, Jürgen Gerber, Esther von Krosigk

Supervisory Board: Prof. Dr. Johannes G. Bischoff (Chairman), RA Thomas Bischoff, RA André Gottschalk

DOWNER DOWNER DOWNER!!!!!!

10 responses to “Academic spam?

  1. So…. does this mean you plan to publish?

    I wouldn’t be a Mom if I didn’t say:

    Be Careful!

    Love, Mom

    • Ha,

      I do and have published mom…in fact that’s one of the main points of my degree, “publish or perish” goes the saying. Anyway, I’d never publish my work in a solicitation like this- it’s junk mail, spam, a con-scheme.

      🙂

  2. Yippy! My “crap-detector” installation went well!

    😀

  3. Pingback: Academic Spam? Redux – Lambert Academic Publishers Responds « Conservation is a state of harmony between men and land

  4. Hey I just received exactly the same email today!
    I will reply to email I am sorry I already published my thesis !!!
    hahaha

  5. I think you are confused between ‘spam’ and ‘scam’.
    Lambert asks for bank account info. But it is optional to provide it. They will still publish your book even if you don;t provide the info.
    Regards
    Writer

    • I think I’m confused on how you think I state Lambert is a scam? I state several times that it is a legitimate business, even though I (and hopefully) not many other would choose to use it. Thanks for reading. Regards Frank.

  6. You guys won’t believe, but I got the same email as well. Do you guys suggest me to publish my work? I mean I obviously would want a book of my own as such. Apart from the bank details what exactly is more bad about it? Please do let me know asap.

    Thanks.

    • Lova, thanks for reading. My recommendation would be to avoid pseudo “vanity presses” like this one. Yes, you’ll have a book of your own, but really, the thesis stands alone as it’s own book in my opinion. As you probably know from doing your own research, you can get theses and dissertations through your University’s library. I know I have cited many of them in my own work. I wouldn’t however feel comfortable citing a self published book like the ones Lambert makes.

      Be sure to check out my update on what Lambert did after posting this entry at: http://wp.me/p2GYj-8i

  7. Hello Frank,

    Thanks for your reply. Would you know as to what bank details do they require in order to transfer royalties? I am not sure in this regard but they say they use Verisign Security System so its mostly not harmful. What do you suggest?

    Regards,
    LoVa

Leave a Reply

